My Camino pt 3

24th Oct Zubiri to Pamplona

We wake early and leave with the other pilgrims, the morning is shrouded in mist and our clothes are starting to dry although our boots a still damp… I have my stone in my pocket…

Image

The mist is lifting…

Our early morning vigour soon drifts into a delayed dawdle as find reason to pause… something to eat, a readjustment of a rucksack, a photo…

 … we are mainly walking with Karen , Simon and Angela but we are starting to get to know other pilgrims from last night… We are in good cheer Buen Camino!

… except… I am starting to really feel the weight on my back…my shoulder is very tender,  Matt and Paul jokingly refer to my pack as my “spiritual  baggage”,  self-imposed, hard to shed and painful… (click for video Spiritual Baggage)

So long as I keep walking I am OK but as soon as I stop.. my feet hurt, they throb and pulse until I (literally) can’t stand it.  This leads me to spend  a lot of time walking alone today,  listening to music on my iPod… there is a need for me to let some emotions out and music always helps me to do this…

As I walk alone along the hilly road to Pamplona is a challenge  after yesterdays continued descent from the Pyrenees…

 I put my head down,  I listen… (Rabbit Heart)

You made a deal, and now it seems you have to offer up
But will it ever be enough? (Raise it up)
It’s not enough (Raise it up)

My head is all over the place today… memories …. regrets… things I cannot change.

This is a gift, it comes with a price
Who is the lamb and who is the knife?

We have all been hurt, we have all done the hurting…

Midas is king and he holds me so tight
And turns me to gold in the sunlight

I feel the heat of the  sun shining down on me and the tears begin to stream down my face… 

Image

And in the spring I shed my skin
And it blows away with the changing wind
The waters turn from blue to red
As towards the sky I offer it
This is a gift

I feel the gift of life in the midst of my tears…

There is a shift  in me and I start to let go a little… we are walking on the outskirts of Pamplona when Simon offers to swap rucksacks with me I find it difficult to accept help sometimes (…most of the time) but I do accept and carry his gratefully for the next 5 miles to the gates of the city (where I insist on taking it back)

Image

That evening we stay in the municipal albergue and Paul and Matt go through my rucksack dispensing the contents to other pilgrims. This makes the pack lighter but my shoulder is really starting to hurt , and as I sit on the bunk my feet throbbing and my shoulder in agony the Dutch pilgrim, who asked us to be quiet yesterday, is in the bunk below she looks up at me and very quietly says

“Your friends… they really love you”

I am intensely moved by her words I have such a strong feeling of love and caring being both given and received all around me…

I introduce myself and we begin a conversation that will carry on over the next week.

Later on that evening Simon tells me that tomorrow we will climb the Alto del Perdon (the hill of forgiveness) and asks me who do I need to forgive?

This is a slightly shorter entry but I hope I have been able to convey the emotion of the day? as always feedback is much appreciated…

Bright blessings

Andy

2 thoughts on “My Camino pt 3

  1. The descriptions of your days on the Camino are wonderful- thank you for sharing your experience with such honesty and clarity. I’ll be on the Camino this summer (first time!) and I look forward to reading more of your journey.

    • Thank you nadine the camino I took was transformative and it has taken a long time for me to write about it …. so your comments are music to me I am so happy that you are going to make this journey 🙂 I think your goning to love it. ..

Leave a Reply

